Different Music 4 Different Places

I have been thinking over the last few weeks of ways I could help bands and artists out and one idea I came up with was to be able bring new up and coming music to places that you wouldn’t normally hear less heard of bands.

So the first place I had in mind was in football stadiums. I was sitting at half time during the Killie v East Fife match and a song by Stone Roses came over the PA system at the time I wasn’t sure who it was but nonetheless i really liked the track. I went home found out who it was and the track title and that was that. Later on in the week a forum thread on a fansite queried what the song was and that they really liked it.

That got me thinking, there were 3000 odd people in the ground that night and at least two people didn’t know that Stone Roses song and they both made the effort to find out who and what the song was. So this when i thought up this new intiative Different Music 4 Different Places. What I plan to do is have a song from a new up and coming act played out at half time intially at home matches at Rugby Park in Kilmarnock then I’ll hopefully be able to extend that to St Mirren Park, Fir Park, Tynecastle, Easter Road and eventually to Ibrox, Celtic Park and Hampden places with 50k + of an audition each week.

The song would be introduced by the PA annoucer each week with a web address/facebook etc for potential fans to check out the band or artist when they go home after the match. Also with some buy in from the clubs in the SPL, hopefully a small notice would also be placed on the clubs website before or after the game as a gentle reminder for fans to remember to check out the act of the week.

This initiative has potential to improve your fanbase by hundreds or maybe even thousands. If it proves successful I would look to take the music further a field to shops, bars, clubs, student unions, and many different places than the normal, tv and radio promotion.

If you fancy your band as a possible act to be played out at a forthcoming football match get in touch at the usual email address ben@indiebendent.co.uk 

 

Cheers

 

Ben

Leave a comment